Canada's Government

Although we achieved self-government from Britain in 1867 and officially separated from it in 1931, the Queen of England is still recognized as our official Head of State.

Read more

Levels of Government

Canada has three main levels of government: federal, provincial, and municipal.

Read more

The Federal Government and the House of Commons

The legislative branch consists of two houses or chambers of Parliament: the elected House of Commons and the appointed Senate.

Read more

Inside the House of Commons

Learn the rules of the House of Commons and its place in Canadian democracy, as well as the role of Members of Parliament and that of the Prime Minister.