Did you know?

There are 338 MPs in the House of Commons, the highest number in Canadian history. The increase is due to population growth.

Democracy 101

How does Canada’s political system work? Who’s who? Watch these videos detailing the government’s structure, the House of Commons business, and the voting procedure.

See all the videos

Canada has three main levels of government: federal, provincial, and municipal.

Although we achieved self-government from Britain in 1867 and officially separated from it in 1931, the Queen of England is still recognized as our official Head of State.

The legislative branch consists of two houses or chambers of Parliament: the elected House of Commons and the appointed Senate.

"The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it."

- Albert Einstein